Day 4 BC: Use a Magazine to Improve Your Blog

Published 02/26/2012 by myworldmyblog

In Day 4 of SITS challenge (Jen@Buried with children) suggested look at a magazine that’s already been published and note down some key pointers for example,  marketing, design, layout, post ideas and writing tips. So I chose Seventeen Magazine and this is what I put on the Forum

Today I am choosing Seventeen Magazine as magazine, so the magazine seems very girlie and it covers the basics of being a girl and topic range from nail vanishes, fashion, hair and beauty to music, whats on television and movies. I like the magazine because it’s not just full of gossip and headlining stories and also it’s aimed at young girls from sixteen onwards rather than forty somethings. I am definitely taking on board some of it’s features for example, the letters section, editors letter of the week (I love that idea and I am gonna use it on my blog) problem pages as well helpful advice and inspiration to us young gals out there. I would definitely recommend it to gals out there.

You can also check out their website at seventeen magazine and download the free app for iphone,ipad and ipod touch. I am also checking out new brands to potentially buy or promote on my blog.

From a design perspective, I love the layouts, colour scheme and I have picked up lots of inspiration and writing tips too. I also realised I needed to be a lot more chatty in some posts.

Leave a Reply

